How’s this for a starting point? I went Doepfer for affordable and trusted and mutable instruments for versitility and sound generation. I don’t have any effects yet, I thought I’d master this first. What you think? Am I missing or could have done similar cheaper / better?

Hi Tooth,

I am rather new at this stuff, but I think you will probably need a VCA module in addition to the LFO and envelope modules.

The way it works is that a LFO generates your waveform, and you connect it to a VCA to control its volume. Then you link up the envelope generator to the CV of the envelope stage so that when you trigger the envelope you get a sound out through the VCA.

Both the Tides and the Doepfer modules are two different styles of envelope generators, so you might just pick your fav if you want to have fewer parts. The Doepfer is more of a standard East-coast Moog-style signal ASDR, while the Tides is like a new West-coast thing that other fancy features behind menu-pushbutton selection options. The downside to the Tides is that you have to read the LEDs to know what function it is set to, the knobs change their purpose depending on the mode.

cg_funk

Thanks cg_funk

I was hoping I could use the Doepfer a101-2 as a via or in dual mode for the moment? Do you recon I’m gonna need another V&A too? I kinda got tides instead of shelling out on a maths. I also like the way you can get an extra voice from it, which I thought would be good in a small set up. Que get a maths comments...

Thanks cg_funk

I was hoping I could use the Doepfer a101-2 as a via or in dual mode for the moment? Do you recon I’m gonna need another V&A too? I kinda got tides instead of shelling out on a maths. I also like the way you can get an extra voice from it, which I thought would be good in a small set up. Que get a maths comments...

Hola Tooth, how do you plan on controlling your modular? With the modules you have you'd still be missing either a sequencer or a MIDI interface to play it.