Hello. I am totally new to the modular world. I have owned a couple of synths in the past and currently own a pro 2. Recently i have been really intrigued with the idea of building my own synth. It's a very expensive hobby to deep dive into so I am here to make sure i am taking the right steps. I currently only have a A-100 case that i bought used in a good deal. In my modulargrid i have only filled the top side of the rack as it's what intend to build and finish by the start of the new year. I am looking to make haunting, fucked up soundscapes, and drones. So if you have any suggestions for that i would be more than pleased to hear them! But more importantly I want to be sure i have a good blue print and functional starting point. Here's what i have: ModularGrid Rack

Hi CatholicSkin,

To be honest with you that's a bit too small case, but hey, if you got it for a good deal, nice start and when you are getting deeper into modular then get an additional bigger case, that might work out.

My feedback on your rack:

• I see a ring modulator but only one oscillator, you need two oscillators for a ring modulator though. Of course you can take two outputs of that single oscillator but I feel that's a bit limiting
  • Missing envelopes and LFOs too... yes I saw that dual EG from Erica Synths, it's a nice module, got that one myself, you can use it as an ADSR, as two LFOs, as two ARs or as one AR and one LFO. Still I feel it's limiting yourself enormously if you would just stick with that one module. Use this module for example as an envelope module (dual AR or ADSR) and get yourself an LFO module additionally to it. At least one LFO, better would be two