I’m a full-time producer with a well-equipped studio, but I didn’t have an analog synth until I got my MOTHER-32. I’m learning that I can get more out of its one oscillator than I thought! It sounds great, like moog always does when someone brings one into the studio. I feel that I’m ready to pick up another VCO now (the dixie ii+ looks right for me), and maybe a 2nd envelop generator with more parameters (ADSR to add to the single AD on MOTHER-32).

Here’s my concern: Am I on my way to building a more expensive, clunkier Sub-37? Am I missing the point of modular by getting common components to ultimately augment and run through my MOTHER-32?

Thanks, guys!

That's always the question, isn't it? I've got a nice little 7u and a M32 and it's a ton of fun with a myriad of possibilities. So much so that it's almost a hindrance. I find myself noodling endlessly, diving down into patches for hours only to arrive at the point of exhaustion when I just shut it down and go right to sleep. No recording, no song, just the moment I've enjoyed on my own with some headphones on so as not to keep my wife and kids up all night. I often wonder if would I be working more effectively on the backlog of songs in various states of completion with something less open ended like a Sub 37, or an 0-coast even.

Yes, you are on your way to building something more expensive and clunkier than a Sub 37. Is it worth it? I really can't say. I'm still trying to figure that one out myself.

You're absolutely building something more expensive than a fixed architecture synth. You're also building something that's arguably more flexible than a Sub 37. What's done with that flexibility will certainly vary from person to person. Have fun with it, and if you're not finding yourself as productive as you would like to be, you can always sell things off without much loss – especially if you've been buying modules used.