Hi

I've got 24HP left in a particular rack and I want to add some drums. As a drummer myself I'm going to be very focused on something that I can tune and tweak and that will sequence easily through Pam. I'd also like it to be simple for performances i.e able to drop out kick / snare / hats etc on the fly

I don't mind single modules or a complete unit but I can't go above 24hp

Any suggestions?

Sensibly most people suggest to get an external Drum Machine. I'd quite fancy a Drum Brute Impact myself.

I've got a few small sequencers, DNIPRO DOT and Robaux LL8, both very capable, but I've just gone and got a Arturia Beatstep Pro as its way more user-friendly than the LL8 (though Muting isn't quite as easy) its good for other stuff too. The DOT is good for little fills and the in-between percussion bits that can be made to float along as poly-rhythms etc from the 3 channels that have different step counts giving you interesting variety that you don't always need to control.

Personally I'd use Pam's clocks for other stuff rather than trying to sequence Drums & percussion with it.

Enjoy your spare HP, don't rush to fill every last space, this is not like filling sticker books. Resist the urge to 'complete' your rack, its never complete so just relax.

https://youtube.com/@wishbonebrewery

Thanks for the reply. I've tried the Arturia drum machines and didn't get along with them. I'd like to keep things minimal in one case.

I'm know I can use PAM's for other things but why not use them to sequence everything to a specific tempo where there are multiple units running in polyrhythm?

24hp is not a lot to play with... usually these things just descend into these are the modules I use - so here goes: