Hi,

as a total Eurorack noob I am planning to start my modular system with a semi modular synth which is then to be expanded with the proper moduls step by step (and should be used with my PC and NI Maschine Jam and a NI Key).

Of course, the question for suitable further moduls will come very soon.
But that will depend from my first decision, which synth to buy for my purposes, I guess.

I've found a deal containing of a Rackbrute 6U and a MiniBrute 2s, which seems quite a good idea to me so far. At least fiancially, because this would mean 200,- Euros off from the normal total price for these both pieces of gear bought separately.

On the other hand I also like the idea of getting a Moog Mother plus the Rackbrute 6U very much, stacking this synth in the system as a modest start of my patching heaven instead of using a MiniBrute 2s.

Or even change these alternatives and better get an Pittsburgh Lifeforms SV-1, a o-coast...? Or any completely other system I have not thought of yet?

Are there any kind suggestions maybe?

Thanks a lot in advance!
M.

P.S. If not obvious yet: The moduls shown in the rack are just an idea of what to come. ;)

• Why are you getting in to modular? Sound design? Getting away from the computer? Composing? You can have more than one reason, and they can change, but it's good to lay out a bit of a vision first, to help guide your decisions..

• How big a rack to eventually want to head towards? If you want to have something small, then maybe the 2S and rackbrute would be all you ever need. If you want eventually build a huge rack, then a the Moog and and a 6U rack is probably a good starting point, because you can resell the rack and get a bigger one later.

• Are you interested in playing the rack at all? Or just controlling it externally? the 2S is probably the most playable option you've put forward. The SV1 or 0-Coast would need a sequencer (could just be your outboard devices).