Hi everyone!

First of all, I just want to say I'm really excited about getting started on my journey with module synthesis. I've had plenty of experience with softwar synthase and midi of the years and am reading everything I can to understand the science going in.

However, where I'm falling a little uncertain is where to start with a physical unit. Should I buy a semi-modular (Mother 32 etc) or just dive straight in and buy some modules (cheaper side to start out) ?

My gut says go semi-modular until I find out WHAT I want my synth to do etc and then start building but I'd appreciate advice from the seasoned synth-meisters! :)

Cheers and looking forward to learning as much as I can from you all.

Oli

Welcome :)

I am a bit of a beginner as well if I'm being completely honest. BUT if you don't know yet what you want your synth to do, I would say invest into a semi modular. That's what I did before I started filling a case. I went with a Mother32/0-Coast as my first synths. Going semi modular at first is a great choice if youre uncertain about anything. Diving straight into modular is confusing and expensive. But can be even more expensive if you dont know for absolutely sure what you need or where you're going with it. I regret nothing by going semi modular in the beginning. The Mother 32 is great for beginners. It can teach you so much about the building blocks of synthesis. And will teach you what you WILL need for basic building blocks for your modular. I learned the most just by repatching the Mother. But I do wish that I would have gone for the Mother32 and the DFAM. That things insane.

Anyways, yes. Go semi until you learn more and figure out what you want to do with your synth. Also I would highly recommend picking up a copy of the book Patch and Tweak. It will answer any questions you may have

Hi there! Thanks so much for the swift reply!

That's really useful insight, thanks so much!

The book, is already on it's way :)