Hey there.

Thanks for taking a look at my plan for Bob Swami's Ambient Rack. ModularGrid Rack.

As I am still new to eurorack modular synthesis, I'm pretty sure I've missed some essentials. Like an on button, for instance. And I may have duplicated things, like mixers. Who knows what else I've screwed up.

Thanks for your feedback. I'm hoping this setup gives me the tools to bring in interesting sounds, do interesting things to them, and play them over and over until I finally figure out how to relax. Cheers.

Best,

bob swami

at first glance: it looks like you have a lot of redundancy where you don't need it. for example, i think you can get most of the functionality of the qu-bit nebulae with the clouds+radio music combo. you also probably don't need that many sequencers to start out.

do you really only have one filter? i would also suggest at least one or two more VCFs, an additional VCA, and an attenuator or attenuverter module (i know everything here sounds really boring, but it's the glue that holds your system together). VCA wise i would suggest getting something with a linear/exp switch, like the synthrotek VCA or the intellijel µVCA II.

you also seem to have a lack of modulation sources, like envelope generators and LFOs - i know that Peaks can do both of these but they're common enough that you probably want at least one dedicated module. consider a make noise maths, which can do A/D envelopes, LFOs, and a host of other neat tricks.

i like the look of that quantizer.

i believe the jones o'tool is not currently being manufactured, so you may have some difficulty acquiring one.