I've wanted to build a modular synthesizer for years, but I think now's the time. I want to build something small and inexpensive (~$2000), but one that will keep me entertained and diving into new sounds while not updating it for a matter of months while at college. I have a general idea of how to go about it (I think), different sounds and artists I'd like to emulate, and modules I find really interesting, such as:
Mannequins - Just Friends
ALM - Akemie's Taiko, Akemie's Castle
Qu-Bit - Nebulae V2, Chance
Pittsburgh - Primary Oscillator
Malekko - Varigate 4+, 8+

I want to pair it to Earthquaker Devices's Avalanche Run because I love how that pedal sounds, but that's besides the point. Here are the modules I selected considering what I find interesting and what I think will keep me interested for a long time without updating it:
https://cdn.modulargrid.net/img/racks/modulargrid_892010.jpg

Feedback? I'm a noob and I want the maximum potential out of my small system, so please give me feedback.

Of course, I thought it over again... I’m heavily considering getting a Dreadbox Erebus v3 and then a couple Eurorack modules to accompany it. Would this is a better alternative, and if so, what modules should I get to work with the Erebus? Any feedback on my accessory rack here is welcome:
https://cdn.modulargrid.net/img/racks/modulargrid_893143.jpg

$2000 budget.

Behringer Neutron $300.
Tip Top Mantis 2x104HP case $355.
Micro Ornaments & Crime $250
Micro Temps Utile $250
Expert Sleepers Disting Mk4 $180

That will take you up to $1335. I'm assuming that you'll be using your laptop to do your sequencing and have an audio interface.

I'd save the other $665 for your next round of improvements (I'd start looking at effects like the Tip Top Z-DSP). The Neutron's LFO can be slaved to your MIDI clock. You can use it to sync the Temps and O&C. You can always use an external LFO from the Disting or O&C in place of the internal LFO on the Neutron.