Hello guys !

I'm pretty new to the "modular world" but i find it exciting.
I'm going to start a 84HP "cheapo" eurorack (with the Doepfer A-100LC3 Low Cost Case)

I need yours advice to build a "basic" system to start, cheap as possible, Max 500-700 euros ...(my budget is very...well...not very modular :)

A 84HP to start playing with, learn basics, experiment, etc...
And i can improve it, after some time (and money save )
Do i have to go "full" doepfer ? Some module are essential to start?

Thank you guys for your time ;)

PS: if you can point me to "cheapo" example "racks" here on modularGrid racks page, that would be cool

Welcome soissons!

As for how to start I can tell you what I did: I collected used Doepfer modules (and anything else cheap I could find). I just wanted to avoid sinking thousands into new gear while figuring out if modular was for me. After I had a basic collection I got a (new) power supply and built a case out of cardboard. -

That said, you will first want to get the most basic modules : Oscillator, envelope, filter, lfo. Depending on what you want to do you will need some kind of note producing controller to actually play notes. Like a keyboard, midi interface, sequencer or even an lfo and a quantizer to give you stepped sequences of notes out of continuous voltages.

And no, you don't have to go full Doepfer (or any other brand). The beauty of modular is that you can combine any modules from the same format. Since you named Doepfer that would be Eurorack which IMO is a good start because it is cheaper than other formats and it has the greatest variety of modules to choose from (currently something like 800, not sure)

Hope that helped?

P.S.
Doepfer has ready made systems too: http://www.doepfer.de/a100s_e.htm
Pittsburgh has what probably ist just enough to be called modular: http://www.thomann.de/de/pittsburgh_modular_system_10.htm?gclid=CImXsfLou8oCFeTnwgod7rYHdw