I'm a long time professional musician. Played keys and synths on a pro level for 25+ years. I've decided to try a bit of modular to complement my setup. I'm by no means new to synthesis, but modular is new :-) Im going into modular to experiment and get inspired. Small loops and sequences to jam to, new and exiting sounds and just to learn and explore. Maybe even connect and sync to funk box app or other apps on iPad.

My rack shown below is going to complemented by: Behringer Poly D, Beatstep Pro, Zoom MS70 CDR, Eventide BlackHole, Behringer Neutron and a Waldorf Streichfett that I already own. I also play Nord Electro And Yamaha Motif and some iPad apps...

let me know what you guys think. Any modules I should look into? thoughts and tips are appreciated :-)

https://cdn.modulargrid.net/img/racks/modulargrid_1436403.jpg

actual link to rack - ModularGrid Rack

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities

unless you are buying used or diying edges and peaks are discontinued - and edges is quite big for a vco!

spend thousands on modules - spend pennies on power supply to power them - do you see what's wrong here???

I don't think you need a quad adsr in this rack and it's huge!

do you really need 3 vcfs?

I'd rather have a fx aid xl than the knock off effect unit and the spring reverb

I would want more modulation sources and utilities - Maths (see illustrated manual), stages, a matrix mixer, kinks, attenuation/attenuversion/offset (possibly shades or mia or miso) - imo these are the really interesting parts of modular - modulation and how to combine, modify and distribute it are way more important than which vco/vcf or how many

I'd also want a waveshaper/folder and an lpg