Folks,

I'm new to Eurorack and am planning my first purchases. I am thinking of getting a Mantis case and four modules to start (I find constraints helpful).

I'd like to have system that is (i) immediately capable of generating sounds on its own and (ii) affords me ample learning opportunities. Eventually, I am interested in building out the rack and adding a complex oscillator, but would like to explore the Cloud Terrarium first (and also add some more modulation sources/utilities).

Any thoughts or opinions about this start would be greatly appreciated!

alt text

Link: https://cdn.modulargrid.net/img/racks/modulargrid_1808557.jpg

It's a hard question, what to start with. What is a minimum viable synth that is fun enough that you won't be disappointed and sell the whole thing in frustration.

Key is versatility I guess.
I don't know Permutation but instead of that I'd recommend Pamela's New Workout. It can generate gates (logic, euclidean, random etc), CVs (also quantised, random, looped random etc), clocked modulation, simple envelopes, LFOs, random stuff on 8 channels. It's great to start out with and it remains great in a big system.

I suppose you saw/heard Cloud Terrarium online and you like how it sounds. I think there is nothing wrong with going ahead and getting it if you can afford it. I think it's important that you find your modules exciting.

Instead of the Mix3 get an output module that has a built in mixer, like 4ms Listen Four. You need to attenuate Eurorack levels to line levels, and maybe you'd like to attach headphones. Get a submixer once you have more voices. Mixing CVs is also important, but Maths will help with that too. For later check out Happy Nerding 3xMIA:

Maths is great to start out with and remains great as your system grows. It can even be used as dual analog oscillators that can also track V/Oct to some extent in the lower frequency spectrum.