I'm fairly new to the modular world, and am looking to build my first little rack. I've already purchased Intellijel's 4u 62hp palette and Mutable Beads. There's also a used Plonk for good deal, but I'm not sure what modules on this rack I'd substitute out if I got it. I'm looking to create something "well-rounded (as everyone says)" and generative. I tend to like random abrupt percussive esque stuff, but also nice melodic harmonious stuff. I also play guitar and drums which I'd love to throw into this, hence the line input. But I honestly have no idea what I'm actually going for, just have to try stuff out I suppose. Anyways, let me know if you have any comments/suggestions. *I know C4RBN is sold out forever, I'd definitely like to know any alternative 4hp or less models that are just as good. Thanks!

https://cdn.modulargrid.net/img/racks/modulargrid_2151716.jpg

actual link to rack - jpgs are crap!!!

ModularGrid Rack

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities

I'm looking to create something "well-rounded (as everyone says)" and generative.

you probably won't really achieve that in this size rack

I tend to like random abrupt percussive esque stuff, but also nice melodic harmonious stuff. I also play guitar and drums which I'd love to throw into this, hence the line input.

neither of which are at line level... and will require further amplification - the 1/2 veils clone may cover this, but then you're a vca down... beads has some gain built in I believe but I've never used it

But I honestly have no idea what I'm actually going for, just have to try stuff out I suppose. Anyways, let me know if you have any comments/suggestions.