ModularGrid Rack

Hey!

Im new to euro rack but really want to get into it for sound design /sound FX purposes. I make and edit SFX for a living for games and film and love the potential of the modules so my aim is to design a system that's focused on processing external sounds but also for creating speaker ripping effects I can record and use in my DAW.

I would really appreciate any feedback... this is a little on the expensive side at the moment so im looking to cut some modules. Any thoughts, tips, ideas on things that are missing or perhaps might not be ideal for the purpose I'm after would be much appreciated :)

Thanks!!

Well, first off, you really need a serious input module with a proper envelope follower. That'll allow you to take foley-type audio and run it thru the machine, deriving both audio and envelope CVs from the signal. Given that this is something you'll likely want to use with both a proper mic and/or line inputs, have a look at Cwejman's AP-1. This also contains some compression and basic eq, plus line and mic (with phantom power) inputs. At $685, yeah, it's expensive for a Eurorack module, but the price is actually pretty comparable to pro-grade mic preamps. As for the Ears and the Detect...nah, probably won't work like you think. Ears is a contact mic built into a Eurorack module and usually works more like a controller, and the Detect is a bit too simplistic to give you the envelope control that manipulating foley really needs, to say nothing of tinkering with highly-amplified microsound-type sources.

Clouds: not available anymore, unless you get lucky or unless you can get a third-party version of it. Otherwise, it's a good choice, but you might want something more delay-like as well for sound looping/manipulation. Check out Make Noise's Phonogene or Morphagene, as well as possibly 4ms's Dual Looping Delay.