ModularGrid Rack

Hi all,

Looking to build a killer instrument setup for live use, and am just starting into modular. I use a lot of other external hardware and effects (Elektron boxes, guitar pedals, sequencers) so don't need my rack to have much in that department.

What I'm hoping this one will do is give me a lot of options for both percussive and chromatic tweaking that can be supplemented with an Analog Rytm / Four.

The setup I've gone after is to have options to compress signals separately from the Minibrute, Lifeforms, and DFAM, with the latter two also having separate EQ controls. I've got a Maths in there for general fuckery, and a Disting+EG for additional utilities. Everything would run into the stereo mixer for panning control before it gets compressed in stereo. It then goes to balanced stereo with some overall options for tone and saturation.

Thoughts? Things I've missing or haven't thought of? I'm new to eurorack so am tryna build the synth of my dreams here!

Thanks!

Why all the compressors, though? That seems to make little sense. Yes, I can understand that you want a degree of dynamic control, but that's what VCAs are for in a modular environment. Mashing the dynamic range will just sound like crap, especially since you've got compressed signals being compressed even FURTHER by yet another compressor.

Electronically-generated sounds obtain much of their impact through having the massive dynamic range that they normally do. A bass hit that swings from -80 dB up to 0 and back with a hard attack will bang WAY harder than one that's been mashed down to a 20 dB window. Normally, compression is what you use to get peaky signals under control, so this implementation seems pretty pointless to me. Leave the compression for mixing.