Hi guys,

I would like to build a rack for dark techno, industrial techno. I am totally new to modular, just own the Erica Synths Techno System and i plan to buy the same Erica Synths case and fill it with module for melody, noise and effects. I plan it on modular grid and need your advice ! Can it work like this ? What i need to change ? What would you change to improve it?

ModularGrid Rack

I will buy modules little by little, and think to begin with Noise engineering basimilus iteritas alter, zularic repetitor and manis iteritas. Do you think its nice for begin ? I can use BIA and Manis with the Erica Sequencer, right ? Do i need other things ?

Thank you for your help ;)

Kevin

Well, when you look at this, there's definitely some shortcomings. For one thing, using the ADSR/VCAs isn't an economical use of space; it would make MUCH more sense to add several linear VCAs on a single module, then solve the other problem present here by adding some more modulation sources to mess with them. I think you're also concentrating too much on distortion effects here...you really only need A distortion device, but a wavefolder somewhere up the signal chain would actually make sense so that you can get more elaborate and controllable (and yes, distorted) waveforms that way, so DO keep the Wavefolder. And there's other issues as well...a lack of controlling modules such as attenuverters will hurt you here, for example.