Hello, I am a complete beginner when it comes to modular synthesis. I am looking to hopefully build an ambient drone rack.
I want to be able to patch self-generating sounds on my rack. I'll be honest to say that I am very overwhelmed with the selection of modules available to choose.
I currently own a Mother32 from Moog and looking for modules to complement and help me create ambient awesomeness with it.
I had my mind for the Behringer Eurorack Go due to the built-in power supply.
I link to my rack on here it isn't much and I need help to make the right choices.

ModularGrid Rack
Thank you.

well that ain't gonna get you to generative music - it may be a small step along the way, though - is this what you have now or what you are - I'd suggest that you want a mixer, or better yet a quad cascading vca

I'd probably look at something more 'generative': turing machines, marbles, bloom etc

can't say I'm a fan of the b company or their products, really - I'd go Mantis if possible (for one thing the power supply is more 'right sized' for the case)

If you are confused about the sheer number of modules then I would ignore actual modules for now and think about functionality more - spend some time reading up/watching videos about basic synthesis techniques - both from an east coast and a west coast perspective and then work out what modules you need to achieve that goal

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities

this user has left ModularGrid

Jim is correct,