Hi there!

I recently got a drumbrute impact and a minibrute 2s and I'm now planing to expand it with some modules. I'm a complete noob and I'd like to make sure if this setup makes any sense at all or I'm getting it completely wrong.

I wouldn't get all the modules at once - this modular thing is quite expensive - so I'd buy one at a time starting with the shapeshifter, which I could patch with the minibrute 2s sequencer and VCA. From there I think it makes sense to get more VCAs and envelope generators before getting the erbe-verb, otherwise my patches are going to be very limited.

Does this rack make any sense to expand on the minibrute 2s?

ModularGrid Rack

Yes and no. Like you note, this current build is really limited. I'm presuming you'll be relying solely on the 2S's filter which is...OK, up to a point, but you could try and add something small here. The overall problem you'll be facing in a 3U Rackbrute is space, so going with large widths on your modules is a bad idea. Consider smaller alternatives or, perhaps more sensibly, go with the 6U version which would then open up another 88 hp for additional modules with which you can work in the Rackbrute or use them to alter the 2S's functions. But even then, I still suggest you keep the module sizes small...you want as much functionality as you can get in that tight a cab.

I agree with Lugia— I have a MB 2 and a MB 2S and the 3U rack can feel very limiting. (Currently working with one 6u and one 3u rack now.) Perhaps you might want to try a smaller module like Expert Sleepers Disting which would add a lot of functionality. Also echoing the thoughts regarding filter — adding Polaris to my rack made a lot of new sounds possible. Finally, you may find the clock limiting on the 2S. A small clock divider/multiplier is really handy. 4ms makes a quad clock distributor that would allow you to trigger events at different rates. Good luck!

Pittsburgh, PA
“Have a good trip!” — Karlheinz Stockhausen