I posted a few months back and got some good advice from JimHowell1970 and Lugia about how to get self-modulation and add randomness to what I felt was too structured and monotonous. This week I decided to purchase a second Mantis case. The first 3 rows are modules that I already own. The last row is an expansion of utility modules were either recommended to me, or that I think I need. I'm making mostly ambient stuff and acid and playing it over an external drum machine (TR8s) and a few other desktop synths. The oscilloscope is mainly to help me learn what is happening. I'm looking for holes in my plan. Is there anything I should have that's not here? Anything I should get rid of? I'm still pretty new to this - maybe a year in now.

ModularGrid Rack

this user has left ModularGrid

Hi,

To be perfectly honest, it looks pretty solid! Maybe add a matrix cv mixer? I use a 4ms VCA Matrix mixer which gives me 16 VCA CV options plus mute controls and 4 CV inputs/outputs. Doepfer makes a great affordable matrix mixer and Livestock Electronics Maze mixer looks like a cool cv matrix mixer module as well.

i take it you mean the bottom row?

to me the quantizer and clock seem overkill when eloquencer will do both these

replace with mixers and quad cascading vcas (veils for example)

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities

Correct. The bottom row. Thanks again! I'll have a look at some VCAs and matrix mixers.

this user has left ModularGrid

Yea Jim’s right you don’t need a clock or quantizer if you already have the Eloquencer. Great sequencer by the way. I’m actually looking to get another matrix mixer in the future and more support modules like a comparator and another vca mixer.