Hey people,

this is my first rack. Getting started with modular synths. Loving it (and terrified).
Deliberately keeping the modules relatively simple. I prefer to get the hang of analog vc-control down first before diving into complex, digital modules.

So far, what I think I'd like to change about this set up is:
- adding VC-controlled LFO's
- adding other filters

I would appreciate any advice on how to (economically ;) improve this system. What are your thoughts on the modules I have in here and which ones would you swap out first? If you had to add one or two, which ones would you choose?

Re sounds: I love ambient soundscapes, drone-type and minimal sounds. I don't like rave / chaos / 4-4 house.

Thanks!

I’m pretty new at this myself but you’ve got a few discontinued modules there and others that will be equally hard to source including the Thomas Henry LFO and the buffered mult - both of which are quite large and there are plenty of slimmer options.I’d definitely invest in a larger more versatile sequencer with the extra space, I’ve got a 2hp pluck which is fantastic at the size and price for karplus strong sounds which might be a really useful voice for the kind of music you want to make and also a 2hp arp- also good but the two mini pots are, how shall I say- overstretched for the functionality and control required so I think the seq would be a bit frustrating to use, a good unit if you desperately need a another basic sequencer and are really struggling for space but probably not a first choice primary sequencer.

Thanks for the tips!

That's not a proper power supply, btw. That power inlet was discontinued by Doepfer a loooooong time ago. Also, in a build of this size, you need to do two important things.