I’m a Eurorack newbie. I’ve planned my first rack and I’d really appreciate any comments before I bite the bullet and whack out the credit card.

My goal with the rack is to use it to create sounds that are difficult to produce in my DAW with soft synths, and to just get a creative blast from working hands-on with hardware rather than plugins.

That said, I’d like to use the rack in conjunction with Ableton Live, sending the output back to Live via an ES-9 for effects processing, mixing and final production.

With this in mind, I’ve mainly chosen modules that seem to deliver functionality that’s unique to modular: Morphagene, Arbhar, etc. The rack also has a sequencer, and I’m intending to use CV Tools via the ES-9, but I like the idea of generating happy accidents on the rack using the sequencer’s probability functions, and just generally playing around and noodling.

The sound sources are an Instruo Ts-L, an Odessa, a Chainsaw, Morphagene and Arbhar, driven by a Vector sequencer. Although I’d like to apply most of the effects on the computer, the rack also has a Mimeophon just because I really love it. 😊

I may have too much fun stuff and not enough utility modules - I’ve got no idea! Any advice is appreciated.
ModularGrid Rack

Personally I think you have way to much in the way of feature modules - and not enough support

I'd take out the five12 vector sequencer expander and replace it with a quad cascading vca (either mutable veils or intellijel) - I might then take out the xaoc vca - whilst you can never have too many vcas - in this size case I. should think 4 is enough - you can always add a 1u if you find you need more

in the space of the xaoc vca I'd probably add kinks and a 2hp passive mult

BUT I would strongly recommend that you go very slowly - buy a minimum viable modular synthesizer for you

a sound source
a modulation source
a sound modifier
es9