Hello,
I am new to Modular Grid and Eurorack. Spent the last few months researching and have put together a preliminary rack.
Would love to get some expert advice on any negatives I am not seeing. Maybe unnecessary crossover between modules etc. Right now I just have the case and 1u modules.
Musically, I want to have as many options as I can. I am also pairing this with my Lifeforms SV-1.
Thanks
Groc

how are you sequencing v/oct? maybe something to address that - otherwise, a small utility mixer, a couple of attenuators (2hp) and a disting mk4 would be my votes to just plug the physical gap and (any) gaps in functionality

I'd be tempted to go with a smaller mixer - you've got relatively little to mix for audio

the best advice is to go for as little as possible

maybe just get stages, the filter, plaits and the quad vca to start with and add a disting - and a sequencer if you need it

play the hell out of them and learn as much as you can about each module - try using different disting algorithms to see what they do and think about why you might want them. or not as the case may be - if you find yourself using the same one constantly then buy a module for that mode and use disting for something else

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities

First up, move the I/O jack pair modules to the ends of the 1U row and co-locate their functional modules there. This gets these cables out of the way of the patchpanel. Then dump the buffered mult, since you've really not got anything here that requires it; use some inline mults or stackcables instead to save space, and this would open up a bit more 1U space for something like Intellijel's reverb tile.