Hi,

I have a Rackbrute 6U filled as below.

Earlier this week, I turned the power on then everything came on and suddenly went off.

After this, the brick power supply no longer lit up, even when trying alternative kettle leads.

I received a new power supply from Arturia yesterday and have just turned on the Rackbrute again using that new power supply.

Exactly the same thing happened.

I'm now unable to use the rack at all, and have a seemingly dead power supply brick.

I'm relatively new to this - what could be going wrong?

According to my rack on Modular Grid, I'm well within the power consumption of the Arturia rack.

alt text

(By the way I've posted this on MuffWiggler too - desperate to sort!)

Step 1 - add up all of your modules' current draws, then increase that by 1/4th. That additional draw amount is there to deal with inrush current, which is what you get for the first fractions of a second when the rig is turned on. If the final amperage figure there exceeds the current ratings of the P/S, then you've probably found your problem, and you'll need to replace the Arturia supply with something beefier. If not, then...

Step 2 - After acquring a new supply, remove ALL modules from the rig, then take some canned air and blow out all of the headers on the distro. If there's a bit of wire or something else conductive in there, this should remove it. Shrouded headers are very convenient, they tend to prevent mispolarized connections or connecting a ribbon a step or two off from its proper alignment, but they can hide bits of crap...and if one of those is shorting something, that dead-short will do that. Once this is done, turn on the rig with only one module connected. If the supply blows again, the problem will be a defective busboard. If not, then...