Hey Forum,

I’m new to modular but I want to build a modular system around my Grandmother. That only modular I know I want is ALM Akemies Castle. I am looking at upto a 7u rack in size so open to suggestions and certainly considering Maths and the Strymon unit for effects (although it takes up a lot of space). So open to suggestions and in terms of sequencing I was thing of Intellijel Metropolis.

Anyway please do leave me your thoughts on this one.

Thanks

Popefloyd

You're wanting to build up a system around a Moog Grandmother. All well and good...but to do what, exactly? Don't ask what modules are the ones you should have based on generalizations like that, because the methods for a build is created should always take the MUSICAL requirements in mind FIRST. For example, if you want to direct your musical efforts more toward something rhythmic and danceable, that gamut of modules isn't going to be the same as what you'd need if you were doing industrial/noise, or ambient, or sound design work, or...well, you get the idea.

Creating a modular system for your specific needs is not a simple process. If done correctly, it's not on the order of simplicity of going to the grocery and getting ingredients for a recipe. It requires you to really understand what your music is now, and where you want to go with it in the long-term as long as you want to avoid a pointless outlay of piles of cash on modules that you find aren't ones that work for your purposes. Plus, how well do you know that Moog? That's not been out that long...so have you fully explored its own potential to a suitable limit where you really understand what functions it has that you want to expand upon?