Mine's been here for about a week now.

IS it all that and a bag of chips?

OK...let me explain that I've got a LOT of background where I've used versions of the original. When I posted a review on Sweetwater's site, I'd thought that the B.2600 would be the seventh one I'd used. But I was wrong...it's the EIGHTH. Of those, three were Tonus-logo rev.2s, two were G-clef-logo rev.3s, and two were the "Orange" rev.4s. And one of those "Oranges" was only about two years old when I used it (right around the time ARP closed up shop, in fact), but I definitely remember it, how it behaved, sounded, and such.

And shock of shocks, Uli has now given us the synth that, for all intents and purposes, is the REAL, BONAFIDE, NO-FOOLIN' REV.5! Yeah, screw Korg and their vapor2600s...Behringer, with the assistance of Rob Keeble, has knocked this thing out of the park...and the parking lot beyond...and busted out the front window of the Carl's Jr. on the other side of the expressway!

How can I say that? I mean...Uli's pretty much not a nice guy, and buying anything with that ear logo on it STILL makes me cringe. But dammit...

OK, OK...the upshot is that, if you were to compare a NIB Behringer 2600 with a pretty-much-new "Orange", as long as you had the BARP in the x1 time constants on the EGs and the 4072 VCF in use, you would have a very difficult time telling them apart. As in, REALLY difficult. So why are all the purists saying that this doesn't sound like a "real" 2600?

Well, it DOES sound like one...that's not 40-50 years old, with 40-50 years of component deterioration, 40-50 years of use and abuse, 40-50 years of drifting out of factory spec, and so on. And therein is the problem: none of these BARPs are 40-50 years old. These guys are so busy A-B-ing these in their heads that I'm pretty sure that they're comparing the BARP to an old, vintage unit that they've got access to now.