Hi all.

I'm pretty new to all this and am currently replacing my digital piano through effects pedals rig to a digital piano through modular effects rig. So far I have what you can see here - ModularGrid Rack

I definitely want to add some kind of filter but not sure which one yet. I need to get down to my local store and play around with a few. I'm wondering about another effects module though. I like reverb and the Otterley covers that pretty well. I like drones and the EP covers that pretty well. I like granular and the Uburst covers that pretty well. I also like delay with 'character' and loopers. I've looked at Morphagene and that looks like fun, as does the Pladask Dradd - though they are pretty hard to get hold of.

I like to make pretty chilled out stuff, along Eno and Budd kind of lines but mixed with a bit more avant garde droney textures and substances. Maybe there are interesting modules out there that aren't among the better known models. Some of the Instruo things look great but they're kinda pricey. Any pointers or other comments about where I'm going with this rig so far would be welcome.

cheers!

A filter bank is always nice. The Serge ResEQ is popular and has a lot of character and charm.

A simple ring modulator is also a good investment.

As for filters, definitely get one with enough room to have fun - this is one of those things you'll always fiddle with and it needs to be accessible. Personally, I'd look at a dual/stereo one or even one with more resonant peaks (like the QPAS or the Vostok Atlas), but go with your heart on this one - listen to tons of examples and do absolutely play some at stores. Another option is the Instruo Traigh, which isn't necessarily cheap but features a three input mixer and a nice classic ladder filter sound. A used one will probably be a decent price.