Hello all, I'm a complete beginner, who over the last few months has spent a huge amount of time watching videos, checking out posts and some VCV rack. There is alot to take in if this is all new to you plus a huge range of modules to choose from.

So if you could point me in the right direction (as I could get totally lost) and advise on starter options, that would be a huge help.

I am looking to build an ambient set up, generative is of interest to me too.

Set up so far
Cre8Audio - Niftycase 84hp
Behringer brains - MI Plaits clone ( already feel After Later Audio Beehive would be better & less hp)
Ladik S-610 Composser N - random sequencer.

Not much space but can't wait to start making some sounds and having fun - Module number 3? what should it be...

Thanks in advance for anyone who can advise.

Welcome to the forum! Others will chime in as well but first - get a bigger case. Mantis gets advised often as it's pretty good value for money. You can say now you want to start small. But a modular setup grows and you'll be happy not to be stuck in 84hp after a few months. I can vouch for that - I wanted to start in 84hp and I'm at around 400hp now, a year and a half into it.

Then, about how modular works. To get a note, you need a trigger (note NOW please) and a note value. The Ladik 610 will give you some note values from the CV out. But it also needs a trigger in. So you'll need a clock source and/or sequencer of some kind. Take a look at Pamela's New Workout (or Pro Workout). It features a clock and several kinds of organised triggers. Call it a clock-and-sequencer if you like.