can anyone give me any comments as I've never built a modular system before. I know enough about synths to get by but have I forgot anything straight forward?

Thread: [ May 2014 ]

I'm selling the left-hand side!

Just passing through, and I've never attempted polyphony in a modular, so take this with a grain of salt.

Basically, I'm getting kinda mixed vibes on this setup. The only reason I can think to have four identical oscillators is that you want to have single-input instrument / multiple voice polyphony, e.g. an analog polysynth. From that perspective, it seems like this has a ton of redundancy. My understanding of the block diagrams of most analog polysynts is that you'll have your multiple vcos fed into a mixer, then have that fed into your signal chain of vcf/eg/vca, etc. from that view of polyphony, it seems not only kinda weird that you'd need a vca (and a summing vca, at that) + eg + vcf + toolbox per channel. if that's where you want to start (keyboard poliphony), you can probably get by with 4 vco, some subset of mixers, 1-2 of the dual vcas, vcfs, and egs. basically, this could probably be chopped into a 6u. it also seems to me--again, having zero true modular polyphony experience--that it'd be the hugest pain in the ass to get four full, independent voices to sound anything similar to coming from the same synth, but that just may be me being a crybaby. for example, i could be wrong, but it looks like the slew limiter in the toolbox does not take a cv in, so good look unifying your polyphonic portamento, if...that's what you're after? 4 s&hs seems like overkill, so maybe that's why there are four tool boxes..unless they're for inverting the envelopes?

"it I am thinking of using to turn the lowest voice of 4 voice poliphony into a rythmic beating bass line"