Hey all, curious for your thoughts on my first modular system. I've got a lot of experience with and own multiple traditional synths (Moog Sub37, Kurzweil K2700, Hydrasynth Desktop, Akai, MPC One, etc.), but am new to the modular world.

Planning on using it for traditional music creation, sound exploration and for effects with my guitar and trombone.

FYI, I also have a Korg NTS-2 to serve as an oscilloscope.

& the actual link - because...

ModularGrid Rack

I'd take a look at my signature and have a good, long think about how it applies to your rack - it's a rough guide to getting the most versatility in patching for the least expense

imo too many sound sources, not enough modulation or utilities... & too many very big modules...

try to cut down to 2 sound sources... so that you can properly support them... I'd lose either the mavis or the cs-l - this will free up space for more modules...

starlab also takes up a lot of space in a case this size...

I'd probably want a free running lfo and/or perhaps a random/chaos module...

and on to utilities... this is almost always the case in newbie racks... not enough vcas (they are for cv as well as audio - modulate the modulation!!!), not enough mixers (again they are for cv as well as modulation & that cs-l can benefit from quite a few mixer channels before being sent to a filter)... and that's just the tip of the iceberg... utilities are really where modular excels over fixed architecture synths

the arbhar comes with 2 expander modules which may bbe quite handy

"some of the best base-level info to remember can be found in Jim's sigfile" @Lugia

Utility modules are the dull polish that makes the shiny modules actually shine!!!

sound sources < sound modifiers < modulation sources < utilities