I just had great purchasing experiences with @rsillsley and @fredeke - can recommend both of them highly

Thank you so much for taking a look, and for your reply.

I've been thinking about the rack size for sure. The thing is that I have an opportunity on a great value second hand 104hp case locally, and having looked at case prices it seems I might not end up paying more if I expanded later into a second case, rather than buying a larger one right now.

There may be a problem with that approach that I haven't clocked though, e.g. If I immediately need more modules than 104hp in order to do anything like what I want. Although if that was the situation it might call the viability of the whole thing into question given cost

You're 100% right that I'm thinking of it as a nexus rather than a standalone synth

Hi everyone

I’m new to modular and about to take the plunge.

I wondered if anyone could give me some feedback on my plan so far. I’ve done a bit of reading into theory and have played around a bit, but feel like there’s still a lot I’m not grasping. So I'd really appreciate any input.

I have quite a bit of modular-compatible hardware - Mother 32, Vermona Mono Lancet, MF-103, 3 x minifoogers, Vermona Retroverb, the Dreadbox Taff2. I also have the Korg SQ-1. I have the Nord Drum and would love to sequence that but understand there may be problems with sequencing by CV. I also have various non-CV-compatible synths and drum machines, which I’m looking to sync and sequence / play alongside. But I want to make the modular the heart of my setup.

The main things I’m hoping for are to sequence and explore repetitive / shifting polyrhythms (including melodic sequencing), the ability to rhythmically modulate my effects pedals (and any modular effects I buy in the future), and to some extent to explore droning and unusual texture.

ModularGrid Rack