hello everyone

i must buy my first Function Generator of my life

simple question:

i must buy :

a Make Noise Maths

or a Doepfer A-143-1

i am a beginner in eurorack world

THANKS

What do you need it for? The Maths had a lot more different functions, whereas the Doepfer does fewer things but has more instances of those simple things.

hi Zack

happy you are here

i am building a eurorack and you write to me :

"Envelope/Function Generator: Most of my favorite modules like this are big (Buchla 281t, Maths, Doepfer A-143-1 and 143-2). If you can spare the space, modules like this can make your system really come alive."

so i don't know which module to buy ?? Maths or Doepfer ????

It really depends on your needs. Ask 10 people and get 10 recommendations.
If you don't need Maths extra functions I'd add that the XAOC Zadar also in a superb module in that regard.

hi SLFE

i have a XAOC Zadar...

Personally, I might suggest the Doepfer module just because you did get rid of the Vermona LFO and this might be a good way to cover some of that function while also having envelope functionality and a few other things. However, this is more subjective territory now, and if you just like the idea of Maths more, it will also be really good in here.

The best bet here is just to buy the one you like the idea of the most and sell it if it doesn't work. Forming a preference around these will depend on trying them out. Personally, I own a Tiptop 281t, so I'm more used to the Doepfer module and its style and I coild be biased (it's very similar to the Buchla one).

ok thanks

i will think about all that...

download the 'maths illustrated supplement' (google)